Close this search box.

Best Selling Author Tami Hoag – Author Biographies

Tami Hoag was born Tami Mikkelson on January 20, 1959 and spent her adolescence in a small town of about a 1,000 people and no stoplights, in southeastern Minnesota. Her father was an insurance agent. She graduated high school and married her high school sweetheart, Daniel Hoag. She wanted to go to college, but it never happened.

Tami Hoag began her career writing romantic comedy and became on of the “Divas”, along with Eileen Dreyer, Elizabeth Grayson and Kimberly Cates. Tami says, “No matter what may change in our careers or in our personal lives, the Divas remain a constant source of support for each other.” Tami often acknowledges them in her books.

Later Tami started writing suspense. Tami says that she likes the complexity of characters and being able to explore the darker side of human minds. She said there was a gradual progression. She would put small amounts of suspense in her romance books. Then she went into more complex, deeper stories.

After 20 romance novels Tami had five best selling suspense novels. In fact those five novels appeared on the New York Times Best Sellers List in 20 months!

Tami says she has a vast reference library, books and videos, on law enforcement and procedures. She says she prefers hands on research such as interviewing people and absorbing their job cultures and attitudes.

Tami says that she has a lot of varying interests. She loves psychology, law, music and interior design. She says, “…which makes being a writer the perfect job because I get to take a turn being anything I want via a character.”

Tami and her husband make their home on a 70 acre horse farm in Charlottesville, Virginia. They own several horses and a variety of pets. They also have a home in Los Angeles, California. Tami says her husband, after working 17 years as a computer programmer, now works for her taking care of the business stuff. They have no children.

In an interview for Expanded Books, Megan Hinder says of Tami Hoag’s psychological thrillers, “Her books captivate readers with crisp writing, fascinating characters and lightening paced action. They keep readers on the edge of their seats from beginning to end.”




The Trouble with J.J. (1988)

Magic (1990)

Quaid Horses

Rumor Has It (1988)

Man of Her Dreams (1989)

Tempestuous (1990)

Rainbow Chasers

Heart of Gold (1990)

Keeping Company (1990)

Reilly’s Return (1990)


The Restless Heart (1991)

Lucky’s Lady (1992)

Cry Wolf (1993)

Deer Lake

Night Sins (1995)

Guilty as Sin (1996)


Ashes to Ashes (1999)

Dust to Dust (2000)

Prior Bad Acts (2006)

Elena Estes

Dark Horse (2002)

The Alibi Man (2007)

Stand Alone Novels:

McKnight in Shining Armor (1988)

Mismatch (1989)

Straight from the Heart (1989)

Sarah’s Sin (1991)

Heart of Dixie (1991)

Still Waters (1992)

Taken by Storm (1992)

The Last White Knight (1992)

Dark Paradise (1994)

A Thin Dark Line (1997)

Kill the Messenger (2004)

Deeper Than Dead (2009)

Source by Elizabeth Lindsey

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest Posts
The Ultimate Guide to Delta for iPhone: Relive Retro Gaming Glory
The Ultimate World of Warcraft Leveling Guide
Overwatch Boost – What Are You Up To?
Fifteen Baseball Stars Still Looking Up At The Mendoza Line In 2018
NHL Division Standings Analysis 2017-2018
Why Playing Online Games Is Beneficial
Popular Categories
Get free tips and resources right in your inbox, along with 10,000+ others
Subscription Form

Related Article
Sign up our newsletter to get update information, news and free insight.
Subscription Form